And Then Life Asked Me to Have Patience

That restless feeling – you know the one I’m talking about? When you’ve worked on something or even yourself so very hard and you have yet to manifest what you’ve been working for…and all you have left to do is be patient – that is the type of restlessness I’m referring to.

You have to be patient, because some things take time. No one builds a skyscraper over night.

But, waiting to see the fruits of your labor, well, it’s killer. When we put in all the effort and work that is needed and the only thing left to do is to wait, we start to feel restless.

Being patient is absolutely brutal, especially when we are waiting for manifestations that mean much to us.

The thought of waiting brings a picture of inactivity, something that we have no control over. This is possibly the most difficult reality of having to be patient; there is a sense that there is nothing that we can do, we have no control, we are at the mercy of time.

But, there is a difference between passive waiting and engaged waiting.

The former means holding our breath, worrying, becoming disillusioned with each day that goes by without seeing the full results that we’d like to have.

The latter holds us accountable for living while waiting. It means that we continue to give our energy to the act of living.

When life requires us to be patient it is not asking us to stop participating; it is asking us to let things be for the moment, to have confidence in the work that we’ve put forth, and to continue engaging with life.

Patience requires that we make friends with confidence and hope.

Patience asks us to search for inner strength to fight off fear and doubt.

What patience requires of us is not simple; it is difficult and tiresome. It is easier to give into doubt, to begin to believe that our continuous effort and work will not pay off.

And when we begin to give into doubt it can lead to cynicism, a cynicism that leaves us feeling defeated and fearful that we will never see the fruits of our labor.

But, when we engage in life it leaves less room for us to dwell in these type of thoughts that feed anxiety.

Waiting for something does not mean taking a hiatus from life. If anything, it is during times that require us to be patient that we should be engaging even more with life.

When we exert energy in experiences that bring us excitement, or peace, or just make us feel good, then we become less obsessed with seeing instantaneous results.

When we participate in life we are more prone to feel a fulfillment that provides us with the strength and confidence that we will manifest what we’ve been working towards obtaining.

It is also necessary to appreciate that slow progress is still progress – this still counts as results. When we do not see the totality of what we are trying to achieve in one fell swoop we oftentimes overlook the small progressions that signal to us that we are getting closer to our goal – that we are on the right path.

I’m not going to lie; patience is not an area that I’ve excelled in.

The thought of needing to be patient makes me want to throw a temper tantrum at the same level of the unruly toddler who thrashes around the grocery store floor when his parents refuse to buy him the toy he wants.

But, patience is unavoidable.

It’s a trait that helps us get through life with less grief and more grace.

All the things that matter to us to now, chances are that they all took time: it takes time to excel in your career, it takes time to build your relationships, it takes time to make a home, it takes time to get in shape.

After putting in the effort and the work, patience becomes the next step. And it is in this step that we get the opportunity to finesse our virtues.

How do you deal with situations that require you to be patient?

 

 

8 thoughts on “And Then Life Asked Me to Have Patience”

  1. I definitely don’t deal with patience well! I have a pretty fiery temperament and tend to throw a lot of mental fits and then shut down. =( It’s something I’ve been working on my whole life.

    1. It is definitely difficult, Jaime! But at least you’re aware of your challenges with it and working on it; kudos to you! πŸ˜‰

  2. It depends. I deal with it a lot more easily when there’s a lower risk of feeling hurt. Right now, I’m waiting for an answer from my partner on something important that affects our relationship, and my mind is freaking out trying to come up with solutions so I don’t get hurt. It wants to apologize, say I didn’t mean things I said or that I changed my mind, it wants to cut things off before the pain happens.

    In other situations, my impatience has a bigger impact when I’m working on a project and it’s moving slowly. I tend to feel like it’s going nowhere and no one cares, and it makes me want to give up. But I remind myself it takes effort and consistency and I keep going.

    1. I can relate to dealing more easily when there’s a lower risk of feeling hurt. If I feel any danger that my heart may be broken, I have even less patience to see things through. My automatic disposition is to flee instead of riding the wave. I’ve gotten much better at it, but it is such hard work, as you know. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! XO

    1. Thanks, Rebecca! Oddly enough, I think that I’m more patient when it comes to others and less so with myself, especially when working on new projects. But, yes, so important to gift ourselves with patience. πŸ™‚

Penny for your Thoughts?

