Love Series: The Art of Spending Time Alone

Our third love series post is written by the awesome Lisa from The Creative Canvass. If you missed them, the first love series post is here and the second one can be found here. All the way from Australia, Lisa shares one of her greatest loves with us!

____________________________________________________________________________________

Love, it’s such a small word that has a lot of pressure put upon it.

It’s bandied about a lot; sometimes it’s overused, and under-appreciated. There’s even a full day in February dedicated to it, a day where there’s lots of pressure to be in love, spend time with the one you love, and even be the first to say the word love.

I have lots of loves in my life. I love a good block of chocolate, eating hot jam donuts, hot chips and spaghetti bolognese are things I would love to eat everyday, and my greatest all time love is lollies…um okay it appears I really only love food, and I love it A LOT.

Whenever we speak of the loves of our lives it’s usually a love attached to something tangible. But I’m here to tell you about the biggest love of my life (after lollies of course) and guess what? It’s totally intangible.

This love that I speak of is the love of spending time alone….love for good old fashioned quietness and enjoying your own company.

The biggest benefit of loving time to yourself is that you get to do what you want, when you want, and how you want. You get to do all those things that you don’t want to share with others, or that you don’t want others to know about.

It’s like the episode in Sex and The City where the girls talk about their secret single behaviour, things that they only do when they are alone. You know the one; it’s where Carrie admits to her love of eating saltines with grape jelly whilst standing in her kitchen reading fashion magazines. When Charlotte admits that she loves to study her pores in a magnifying glass every night for an hour, and Miranda confesses that she loves to put Vaseline on her hands, put them in conditioning gloves, and watch infomercials.

So, if spending time by yourself is something that you’d love to start to do, then here are some fantastic activities to try:

  1. If you don’t have one already, find your own secret single behaviour. I have so many, but one I do constantly is watch back to back episodes of The Middle whilst eating chocolate.
  1. Go out for coffee and cake, or get your favourite greasy takeaway. It’s so much more enjoyable when you can gorge yourself silly without anyone making comments, or asking if they can have some of your food.
  1. Satisfy your guilty book, TV, or movie pleasure. I love the girliest of movies but don’t like to watch them with anyone else as I feel that they don’t appreciate them quite like I do.
  1. Take a road trip. Stop at your favourite food places, pump up the volume on your favourite music, stop at random locations just because, play audio books, sing as loud as you please, be alone with your thoughts. Doesn’t this sound like paradise?
  1. Start a hobby, which can be absolutely anything you want. Paint, write, finish projects around the house, fly a kite, sail a boat – the options are endless.
  1. Plan a trip that you will take either on your own or with others. Is there somewhere you’ve been dying to go to for ages?
  1. Do whatever you want and don’t be afraid to do it. Just enjoy the serenity, enjoy your own time and embrace it.

Being alone doesn’t mean you’re lonely. In fact, it means that you have a more fulfilling life as you aren’t relying on others to make you happy.

You are allocating time to the person who’s most important in your life – you.

Learning to love spending time by yourself teaches you to enjoy the moment, recharge, think about what you want in life, and even appreciate the times you spend with others more.

So here’s to love. Love for others, love for good food, love for corny TV, but most importantly love for yourself.

*For additional inspiration on how rewarding spending time alone can be, check out this video:

lisa

Lisa is the creator of The Creative Canvass, started in June 2014. Lisa’s lifestyle blog centers on all things travel, food, life, and home related posts. The Creative Canvass is a place where ideas are shaped, thoughts are shared, and journeys are taken. It’s a clean slate, a canvass, which can be shaped and coloured in any way needed at any particular time.

When Lisa’s not blogging, you can find her eating something sweet whilst watching a rom com, or dreaming about her next travel adventure.

16 thoughts on “Love Series: The Art of Spending Time Alone”

  1. I’m always up for some good alone time and actually look forward to it. One activity that has been on my “to-do list” is to go to a movie alone, for some reason it makes me nervous, but something I will do eventually!

    Shannon
    Clothes & Quotes

    1. You should try it, Shannon! I think, if I’m remembering correctly, the first movie I went to see alone is 500 days of summer. Remember that film?

  2. awesome post! Things I like to do alone include: starbucks and chick flicks lol. The other night, my bf went to class so I got starbucks, a chocolate croissant, and watched PS I love you. It was golden. Other things include eating chocolate anything while watching E4 Misfits a thousand times or re-watching 10th Kingdom – my favorite mini series. Also, I love to read, take baths, and watch films all day every day!

    1. Right?! Me too. I need time for myself, whether it entails getting a pedicure, reading a book, taking a walk, or just being a zombie and spending a couple of hours in front of netflix.

  3. I LOVE spending time alone and I’m definitely not lonely, lol! I have tons of hobbies and enjoy the opportunity to do whatever I want and to get lost in my thoughts. Doesn’t mean I don’t also enjoy spending time with others, I just truly value and look forward to my much needed me-time. I love all of your suggestions for things to do! Excellent post! I think so many people mistake being alone with lonely and it definitely doesn’t have to be the case :-).

    1. I agree with you, Vicky. I don’t feel lonely when I spend time alone. I feel free and recharged. I’m a pretty social person, so I need alone time and meditation to stay balanced.

  4. Great article! I’m not joke, eating malteesers and watching the middle as I read this. lol. I’ve just recently learned to really appreciate time on my own. It’s definitely an important life skill.

    1. I had to look up malteesers, never heard of them, ha. It really is so great when we learn to appreciate alone time – glad to hear you’re exploring it further!

    1. Me too! I’m currently hooked on broadchurch. And Thai food…don’t even get me started, just had some last night!

  5. This is a great post. My alone time is something I really cherish and go a little bit nutty without. I pretty much get it every Friday. I walk from our apartment in Chiang Mai over the river (takes just over an hour) and do a private pilates class, then I walk back up and have lunch by myself at my favourite vegan restaurant with a vegan glass of wine. It’s a good 3-4 hours I have by myself and I feel so refreshed after!

    I’m also a huge fan of roadtrips alone. I call them my “thinkin’ drives” LOL

    1. Jess, your ‘me time’ routine sounds super fabulous! I can absolutely picture it. I’ve never taken a roadtrip alone, but it sounds like it could be quite the adventure…hmm

Penny for your Thoughts?

