Liebster Award and the Blogging Community

“A writer who isn’t writing is asking for trouble.” – Walter Kirn

It’s true. We writers write because if we don’t, then a chaotic mash of thoughts and stories get caught inside a place that is too small to contain them all. The release of words is a necessity for the sake of a writer’s sanity. The great Maya Angelou once said that there is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you. For the writer, this statement hits our center, an assurance that other writers understand our passion and need for the art of words.

The camaraderie and support among bloggers is inspiring, but even more rewarding is forming bonds with those writers whose work you respect and who see the value in yours. This is why a nomination for the Liebster Award is humbling and why I chose to receive it and pass it forward.

The Liebster Award is given to newer bloggers by other bloggers. It is a way to discover new blogs and recognize new bloggers with potential. I want to thank Lou for the nomination and also for writing this blog post that has provided me with a more efficient way of blogging!

So here is how the nomination works: I will list 11 random facts about myself, answer 11 questions that Lou posed, and will nominate other bloggers who are adding great quality to the blogosphere, and provide them with 11 questions to answer!

11 RANDOM FACTS

  1. Spanish is the first language that I learned. When I started school in the states, the only English word that I knew was ‘banana.’ Maybe that’s why until this day, when I’m not traveling, it is rare that I go a day without eating one.
  2. I don’t wear pajamas to bed and often freak out that a major earthquake (I live in the SF bay area) will occur in the middle of the night and I will have to wander around naked in the midst of disaster. I sleep with a robe next to me…because surely that will make things better if there is an earthquake in the middle of the night.
  3. When I was a kid I was convinced that my life was happening as flashbacks of a story that I was telling to a police officer. The events in my life were simply memories that I was reliving as I was speaking the words. To have that same level of imagination once again!
  4. When I’m home, I only eat semi-melted ice cream. When I was younger, I’d only eat completely melted ice cream, so at least I’ve graduated to semi-melted.
  5. I feel most myself when I’m traveling in another country, alone, not knowing the language, and trying to figure things out.
  6. I’m a nut hoarder. If you walk into my apartment, you’ll easily find at least 6 jars of different nuts.
  7. I am a first-generation college graduate and apparently became addicted to school, because I went on to get two additional Master’s degrees.
  8. I feel sexiest not in a dress and in heels, but at the gym, when I’m dripping sweat, throwing punches and kicking the air.
  9. Though I think of myself as logical and practical, I still have a soft spot (that I can’t even understand myself) for the supernatural – ghosts, tarot cards, horoscopes. It’s entertaining.
  10. Even if I’ve hung out with someone several times, I won’t enter his/her number into my phone until I’m convinced that I’d want to have that person in my life. This has ensued in some embarrassing exchanges, but overall it works for me.
  11. I plan on going to Australia and South America in 2015. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

11 QUESTIONS GIVEN TO ME

  1. How long have you been blogging?

Still new to blogging – 4 months

  1. Why did you start blogging?

I have a vision that I’m trying to pursue. In 2014 I went through an introspective period that took me on a really long journey. After many experiences, that journey brought me to an authentic and real storytelling event in NYC. By witnessing the connection that words, storytelling, facilitated between people, I knew I wanted to create a space in the bay area that would allow for similar experiences. Talented people in the bay area are doing awesome work in the area of connection, mindfulness, and awareness, but there isn’t a space that allows for all mediums to collaborate. I envision creating a space where ecstatic dance, meditation, storytelling, circling, and other avenues of connection to self and others can be accessed. I believe that isolation is a problem and that the more community and awareness we can bring back, the less suffering/suicides/killings we will see. Blogging has helped me find like-minded people as well as connect with others through my words.

  1. What’s your favorite blog post that you’ve ever written?

We Remain Living is my favorite. I wrote that post from a very heart-felt place and the personal responses that I received after publishing it were humbling and touching. I think all bloggers can agree that one of the best feelings is when we publish something that helps our readers and assures them that someone else understands.

  1. Do you log onto your computer/phone within the first hour of waking up in the morning?

Yes, it’s terrible. It’s a difficult habit to break! Anyone have some tips?

  1. What’s the best book you read in 2014?

The Goldfinch. Raw. Real. Unapologetic. And to top it off, a good story!

  1. What are your three favorite TV shows?

I honestly don’t watch much television, but I confess that I could spend a week watching episodes of Disappeared on investigation discovery. I’m a complete sucker for that show. I’m a fan of House of Cards and Orange is the New Black

  1. Are you a dog person, a cat person, an animal person or none of the above?

Both! I want a dog!

  1. What do you do or are you trained to do professionally… other than blogging, obviously?

I have a Master’s in English (early modern literature) and a Master’s in Public Administration. I am a Program Director at a nonprofit in San Francisco. I basically get paid to strategize, solve problems, and create while ensuring outcomes are produced. It’s a sweet gig!

  1. What is your favorite hobby… other than blogging, obviously?

Travel

10. Where did you spend your last vacation?

I actually just came back from Isla Mujeres and Cancun in Mexico. It was stunning!

11. If money wasn’t a factor, how would you spend your time?

Traveling the world, trying new dishes, reading, writing, and working out

NOMINATIONS

I am excited to nominate the following blogs. I picked these blogs for different reasons, some of them have some of the best blog formats/sites that I’ve seen, others are jaw-dropping creative, some are motivational/inspiring, and others have a really sharp and lovely writing style. Check out their blogs!

http://www.lifeisfrightening.com/

http://thecreativecanvass.com/

http://madetonurture.com/

http://www.nomad-nester.com/

http://tryandtriharder.blogspot.ca/

http://thisisbeck.net/

11 QUESTIONS FOR THE NOMINEES

  1. What side projects are you currently working on?
  2. How do you organize your blog schedule?
  3. Why do you blog?
  4. What’s the best advice you’ve heard?
  5. Who is your favorite author and why?
  6. What are you most looking forward to in 2015?
  7. When is the last time you laughed really hard?
  8. What’s the inspiration behind your blog posts?
  9. What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned since starting your blog?
  10. What three adjectives reflect your personality?
  11. Make us laugh – what’s your best joke?

IN CLOSING

To all you fellow bloggers, thank you for creating such a beautiful community from all parts of the world. To all you readers, thank you for appreciating our material and sharing your stories with us! Cheers to the power of words!

 

 

16 thoughts on “Liebster Award and the Blogging Community”

    1. Congratulations on your graduate degree! Learning is great; it’s too bad that graduate school is so expensive or else I’d be tempted to stay in school as well. At least there’s always books and self-taught approaches.

  1. Your 11 facts are amazing! I am also a first generation college graduate! I was addicted as well. I just completed my wedding planning certification, an even planning certification, and I am considering completing another B.S degree in Public Relations or advertising.

    1. Thanks, Isabella! It sounds like you’ve been really busy. I think I’m done with school for a while, though I’ve thought that before and ended up right back in the classroom.

  2. I completely agree with you on the blogging community–I’m continually amazed at how supportive and encouraging it is, and I’m so glad I stopped being an antisocial blogger earlier this year! 😛 (It’s part of why I now also log onto my computer/phone within the first hour of waking up. ;_; Soooo can’t help you there.)

    I feel sexiest in gym clothes too. If it were socially acceptable to just wear that all the time, that’d be my go-to outfit each and every day. (They’re just so comfortable! <3)

    Ahhh, South America! ❤ I've always wanted to go there! I will be living vicariously through you for that, hehehe.

    Happy almost-new-year! ❤

    1. Right?! I agree – maintaining and growing a blog requires us to participate and engage and unfortunately that often means waking up logging onto our phones and checking it before going to sleep.

      Peru has been on my list for a while. I’ll make sure to post pictures if I make it to Machu Picchu in 2015. Happy new year to you, too-hope it’s the best one yet!

  3. Hey thanks so much for the nomination! Will be thinking hard about the 11 random facts and answers to the 11 questions. Now I have to find some blogs to nominate – tough because there are so many good ones out there!! Cheers,
    Julie

  4. I love the fear of earthquakes in the middle of the night! That’s too funny! I used to avoid sleeping with my comforter touching the floor because I was convinced that if there was a snake under my bed, it would use the blanket to climb up (because there’s no other way it could have possibly gotten to me, right?) I only recently stopped doing this because I couldn’t convince my bf that this was completely normal sleeping behavior.

  5. Firstly thank you so much for nominating my blog, I’m super excited and super appreciative. I loved reading your post, it was funny, heart felt and super inspiring. I can’t wait to write my response. I have a fantastic recommendation for you for your visit to Australia, come to Melbourne. I can show you around, we can catch up on Orange is the New Black and I can introduce you to some amazing nut stores 🙂

    1. You are most certainly welcome, Lisa. A well deserved nomination and I look forward to reading your post! I may just take you up on your offer of showing me around Melbourne. I’ll keep you in the loop once I make solid travel plans. 🙂

Penny for your Thoughts?

