Because Our ‘Firsts’ are Awesome…Sometimes

These past months I’ve been saying ‘yes’ to new experiences that present themselves and doing so with an open mind. But it’s been almost 5 years since I first started craving getting my first tattoo, and this past month the idea kept pestering me even more.

As an ENFP, permanent decisions are difficult for me to make. I’m always on the lookout for how to make things better, how to experience more, what more desirable opportunity awaits around the corner and committing to permanency challenges the possibility of these endless options.

It was the same story with the tattoo. I would think of what I wanted inked and then second guess myself and wonder if a better idea, a more meaningful concept was waiting to be discovered.

There was also fear. Fear that I would hate it. Fear of judgment. Fear of pain. Fear of regret.

It took me 5 years to impulsively, completely unplanned, stop by a reputable tattoo shop and ask if they had time for a walk in.

I decided a couple of months ago what I wanted to get inked: the word temporary. No, I didn’t want the word permanently on me because I was trying to be facetious. I wanted it because of the connection that I have to the word.

This past year has been a growing year for me and with growth there comes a whirlwind of ups and downs.

Remembering that all is temporary has helped me get through the really low points. It has served as a reminder that whatever difficult emotions I am experiencing will not last. It has done the same for the really high moments as well. The word temporary has pushed me to bask in the moments of that high, because they also have a transient nature. It has made me more present for those beautiful moments that make life worthwhile.

In my journey to lead a mindful life, I have formed a strong affinity and bond with the word. It has been my companion and mantra this past year.

So when Heath, one of the tattoo artists, told me he could fit me in, it felt like the right timing. And it was at that moment that I decided that a silhouette of a fleeting bird would complete the concept that I wanted to capture.

And so it was done.

In 30 minutes, I finally had something that I’d been craving for 5 years:

tat

And it felt greeeat! On a paradoxical note, it was fully liberating to commit to something permanent. The freedom and independence of finally acting and doing something that I’d had on my mind for years birthed such a delicious euphoria.

I wish I could experience this first a couple of more times!

What have you been wanting to do that you’ve been putting off? What’s stopping you?

Penny for your Thoughts?

